
JUSTICE COURT 
744 Hwy 281 South 
PLEASANTON, TX 78064 
Phone:  (830)  569-6614 

JUSTICE OF THE PEACE 
PRECINCT NO. 4 
ATASCOSA COUNTY, TX 
Fax:  (830) 569-6664 

THE STATE OF TEXAS 

Requirements For Driving Safety Course 

In accordance with section 143a-a(2) of the uniform act.  The law states that you 
may take this option IF you meet the following requirements. 

1. You must have a current Texas Driver's License, Valid at the time you received
the citation filed in this Court;

2. You must not have taken the course within the previous twelve months to
alleviate a traffic violation.

3. You must provide the Court with current Proof of Liability Insurance on yourself.
4. You must not have been cited for 25 mph or more over the posted speed limit.
5. The offense must not have occurred in a Construction Zone.
6. CDL operators are ineligible (even in their privately owned vehicles).
7. You must not be passing a school bus while loading/unloading children
8. You must pay a required fee to cover administrative and Court COST.
9. Failing to remain at the scene of a collision.

It is YOUR responsibility to furnish the Court the following items: 
1. A fee of $144.00 to cover Court and administrative cost or the Enclosed
Payment Plan Request Form (NOTE: the payment plan cannot exceed 90 days
from the date of the letter) Payments may be made via Money Order,
Cashier's Check, Online Payments at www.certifiedpayments.net Bureau
Code# 7364104 Docket# )
2. A copy of liability insurance on yourself;
3. A copy of your driver's license.
4. Notarized Affidavit and request to take driving safety course (request form
enclosed);
5. A certified driving record from Austin D.P.S. www.texas.gov Type: 3A



AFFIDAVIT AND REQUEST TO TAKE 
DRIVING SAFETY COURSE 

Your name: _____________________________ Citation # __________________ 

The above named defendant, having been duly sworn upon oath states the following: 

1. I have not completed nor am I currently taking or approved to take a Driving Safety Course (under
Article 45.0511 Code of Criminal Procedure)  for traffic citation issued within one year of the date of
the citation and that is not reflected on my driving record.

2. I do have a TEXAS DRIVER’S LICENSE OR PERMIT. I do not hold a Commercial Driver License

3. I have a vehicle insurance policy, or I am listed as a driver. IMPORTANT NOTE:  Your request for
Defensive Driving will be denied, unless you submit proof that you are INSURED as required by law.
THE PROOF MUST BE ATTACHED TO THIS AFFIDAVIT. PHOTOCOPIES ONLY.

4. I will provide a certified copy of my five (5) year driving record from the Texas Department of Public
Safety before I take the course. You may go to www.texas.gov request Type: 3A.

Based upon the foregoing, I hereby waive trial by jury, enter a plea of Nolo Contendere and request that the 
Court defer proceedings for 90 days so that I may complete an approved Driving Safety Course.  I understand 
that I MUST COMPLETE and RETURN an COURT CERTIFICATE showing that I have completed a Driving 
Safety Course which is approved by the Texas Driver and Traffic Safety Act (Article 4413(29c), Vernon’s 
Texas Civil Statutes) to the Court no later than 90 days from the Judgment. 

Defendant Signature: ___________________________________________________ 

Defendant’s Mailing Address: _____________________________________________ 

City _____________________________ State ________________ Zip ____________ 

Telephone # _____________________________ TX DL # ______________________ 

Sworn to and subscribed before me, This _________________ day of ____________________, ______ 

________________________ 
My Commission Expires 

________________________________ 
Notary Public of State of Texas or 
Justice Court Clerk, Precinct Four 
Atascosa County, Texas 

*Signature must be notarized.


